• ISBN: 978-618-81232-0-5
  • Size: 234 x 156 mm
  • Pages: 126
Price: 20.90 EUR

About The Book

Golden Walter, a young man disappointed with his marriage and his life at home decides to sail the world. Haunted by a mysterious vision and obliged by a storm he arrives on a strange land. There he leaves his comrades and wanders alone until he enters the Wood beyond the World, a place of magic and danger from which he would have to escape.
Together with The Story of the Glittering Plain, this is one of the first works of modern fantasy, a tale taking place in a world of magic different from ours. Although both the world and the language Morris is using have a strong medieval influence this is not a historical romance. Both world and language are pure creative inventions, unique in the story of fantasy literature.

William Morris

William Morris (1834-1896) was an English textile designer, artist, writer, typographer, socialist and member of the English Arts and Crafts Movement.

Through his textile designs produced by his company Morris, Marshall, Faulkner & Co and his other works and writings on interior design, he has influenced the field more than anyone else. As a typographer and founder of the Kelmscott Press he had a lasting influence on typography and graphic design. His utopian novel News From Nowhere is today considered a classic, while during his life he was mostly known as a poet, political activist and supporter of traditional crafts.

His prose romances, a series of fantasy novels written during the last years of his life have been an important influence on authors like J.R.R. Tolkien and C.S. Lewis. Although they are little known today, they have been fundamental for the development of British fantasy literature.

The Prose Romances of William Morris

The Prose Romances of William Morris is intended to be the definitive edition of Morris’s fantasy works, keystones of British fantasy literature that influenced authors like J.R.R. Tolkien and C.S. Lewis in writing such classics as The Lord Of The Rings and The Chronicles Of Narnia.